+32 2 649 51 58

Powered by Google Translate

The Ekeberg Prize judges 2021

3 March 2021

Recognising excellence in tantalum research and innovation

(This article first appeared in Bulletin #184, the quarterly journal of the T.I.C.)


Richard Burt (left) and Dr Axel Hoppe, respectively the outgoing and incoming chair of the Panel of Experts.

The Ekeberg Prize is the annual award for excellence in tantalum research and innovation in tantalum (Ta), and, while it is administered by the T.I.C., it is an independent Panel of Experts that is responsible for selecting the winning publication each year. The Panel plays a crucial role in the Ekeberg Prize and there can be no doubt that the rapid adoption in our industry of the Ekeberg Prize is due in large part to the gravity, reach and intellectual weight which the Panel provides.

Since 2018 the Panel’s chair has been Richard Burt, a former T.I.C. President with over 40 years’ experience in our industry, but after three groundbreaking years Richard has decided it is time to step down from both his role as chair and the Panel itself.

Richard's support of the Ekeberg Prize has been an important factor in its success and his contributions should not be underestimated. On behalf of everyone at the Association, we heartily thank Richard for everything he's done for the prize and the T.I.C. overall, and wish him all the best for the future.

Looking ahead, we are privileged to be able to announce that the new chair of the Panel of Experts will be Dr Axel Hoppe.

Dr Hoppe holds a doctorate in chemistry and has worked in the tantalum industry for many years. He has published several papers on the subject and holds various tantalum patents. For over 30 years Dr Hoppe worked at H.C. Starck, then a subsidiary of Bayer (since renamed TANIOBIS). He was a member of the T.I.C.’s Executive Committee for 10 years (1997–2007), including serving two terms as President (2001-2 and 2006-7). He has been a member of the Panel since 2018 and is well known and respected in our industry.

Joining Dr Hoppe on the Panel of Experts for 2021 will be:

  •   Professor Elizabeth Dickey, North Carolina State University, United States of America
  •   Magnus Ericsson, adjunct professor at Luleå University of Technology, Sweden
  •   Dr Nedal Nassar, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), United States of America
  •   Professor Toru Okabe, Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  •   Tomáš Zedníček Ph.D., President of the European Passive Components Institute (EPCI), Czech Republic


The Anders Gustaf Ekeberg Tantalum Prize 2021:

The Ekeberg Prize is open to any published paper or patent that is judged to advance knowledge and understanding of tantalum. To be eligible the publications should be written in English and dated between September 2019 and March 2021. Submissions must be received by the T.I.C. office before May 31st 2021.

The winner of the Ekeberg Prize receives his/her award at the Association’s annual General Assembly.

Full details will be posted at https://www.tanb.org/view/prize in due course




Latest News


Read More

EU 2020 CRM list

Read More

Tantalum capacitors in 5G infrastructure

Read More

The Ekeberg Prize judges 2021

Read More
We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. Accept Read More